Cool Transitions

Hello everyone!

I think one of the hardest things for me to do is figure out with what temperature I’m supposed to wear things, and when to wear winter jackets, when to wear tights, when to not wear peep toes, ah! It’s a bunch of trial and error if you ask me. So I thought I would talk about what I usually do when transitioning from cool weather, to cold weather, to freezing.

Here in this outfit, is something i would wear if it was at least less than 50 degrees out. I would consider that a (very nice) winter peacoat. The leggings, the scarf, and the snow (obviously) tell you that this is for the colder months that are up ahead. But what about in-between?

70’s-When it starts getting to be fall and we’re in the low 70s weather, I tend to start wearing leggings or jeans with tank tops or tee shirts. I don’t usually wear any jackets or anything around this time.

65-70 Usually around the upper 60’s I start wearing a jacket that I’m prepared to take off when it gets a little warmer in the afternoon. I still wear jeans and things, but I balance with less on top, like a tank or tee. If I wear a skirt or a dress, I usually bring a jacket or a sweater to keep the chill off.

60-65 This is basically what was all last week in Massachusetts. This is the typical fall weather, where i wear heavier sweaters and trench coats that I plan on keeping on all day. I start wearing heavier scarves and leaving my summer ones behind. This is when I stop with any peep toe or sandal type of heel or shoe.

50-60 This is actually what it has been like today and yesterday, very cold! I haven’t worn any winter coats yet, but I do wear heavier jackets and sweaters, and I ensure to have something on my legs when i wear skirts and dresses, like tights or leggings. I start bundling up and wearing more and more scarves and bring coffee to school. (Coffee, in my opinion, is an accessory!)

Anything below 50 degrees, means I am wearing a winter jacket. On the normal sunny days, I will wear a winter jacket and maybe leggings like in this picture. If it’s colder out because of wind or cloudy skies, I will opt for some leather fancy gloves to keep my warm. But if it’s especially windy or raining, I will bundle up with a huge scarf, knit gloves, a hat, anything to keep me warm!

This is my main layout of how I dress when it gets colder. I hope it helps some of you out! I know not all places are the same when it gets to be fall, but if the temperatures are similar to your climate, you can use this!

2 thoughts on “Cool Transitions

Leave a Reply

