Peanut Butter Cookies with Ingredients Sitting in your Kitchen!

IMG_1140IMG_2120IMG_7469

Hey everyone!

I made a pretty easy peanut butter cookie recipe, and all the ingredients are easily found right in your kitchen. I got the recipe off of Better Homes and Gardens, so go check out the website for the specifics. You really just need the basics: 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup peanut butter, 1 cup sugar, 1 cup brown sugar, 1 and 1/4 cup flour, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract, 1 teaspoon baking soda, and 1 teaspoon baking powder, and an egg.

I first mixed the butter and peanut  butter in a big bowl because all the ingredients are being mixed in, so you’ll need a lot of room for everything. After the butter and peanut butter mixture is smooth and creamy, start adding the granulated and brown sugar.

After mixing in the sugars, I added the egg and beat that in until it was even. Then I added the vanilla extract and baking soda as well as the baking powder. The consistency at this point is kind of gritty.

I then mixed in the flour, and I really had to mix this in good because it was a bit dry until I worked it into the batter. I then refrigerated the dough while waiting for the oven to eat to 375 degrees. It’s easier to form the dough into 1 inch balls while it isn’t so sticky, so refrigerating helps with that a bit. After waiting about ten minutes I rolled the balls and put them in a small ball with a good amount of granulated sugar so the dough is coated in sugar. You then place them on the cookie sheet evenly.

I used a fork to press into the dough before putting it in the oven. However, it was sticking to the fork, so I filled a glass with water and dipped the fork in before each cookie so the dough didn’t stick. I cooked them about 7 or 8 minutes, or until they got too brown around the edges. Tell me what you think!

 

-Heather

Leave a Reply

