New Favorite Clothing Piece: Vintage Style Bird Shirt

birdsbird shirtbird closeup

Hello everyone!

I officially have a new favorite piece of clothing in my wardrobe, and that is this little shirt full of birds.

I put “vintage” in the title in order to sound really indie, but this actually came from Forever 21. It does have the vintage vibe though, since the bird illustrations almost look painted on. I said this when I was wondering in there and it was one of those things that you feel the need to buy as soon as you see it. I didn’t care the price (even though I’m sure it was only $12) and marched right over to the register. It has a loose fit, and the sleeves are quarter length. It is pretty universally flattering and I’ve worn it with many different types of outfits! I even featured it in my Winter Lookbook which you can see here! I also noticed while buying it that I was wearing tights with little foxes on them and realized I have an unsettling amount of clothes with tiny animals on them.

Anyway, it’s quite sheer and goes with many things since the birds have mostly neutral colors on them. I think it goes well with my hair because the birds are pretty much the same colors in my hair (as you can see in the last picture). I wore it today with my new Kate Spade necklace (which was one of my awesome presents from my boyfriend) and it looks adorable with the shirt! I’ve noticed a lot of rustic-woodland-animal styles going on at the moment and this is a great addition to that look without breaking the bank. I’ve seen a few animal shirts and places like Anthropologie that go for $60+ but if you really dig around Forever 21 you’ll find some really great things. I think for awhile I was opposed to the store because they have so much stuff that honestly is crap, but they also haveΒ manyΒ gems in there as long as your looking with an open mind. I wore this with some new boots and it always looks good! I’ve been wearing it so much I thought it deserved a blog post. I’m also sorry I haven’t been on here as often, but with the holidays came many busy days and nights and I didn’t have the time to properly take some good photos and write up a post. I’d like to know how everyone’s holidays were? Have you guys seen the crazy sales in stores after Christmas? There was an incredible sale in Urban Outfitters and I ended up buying some great jeans. I hope everyone is having a great break and relaxing with the people they love.

-Heather

6 thoughts on “New Favorite Clothing Piece: Vintage Style Bird Shirt

  1. The Innocent #1

    There, at the rock, the innocent stands waiting
    for what she’s not sure, but she knows the
    man she once dreamed of could not be out
    fishing until two in the morning, nor could her
    busy parents be lured away from the fields by
    the promise of money, nor her dreams fulfilled
    in the rice paddy, nor will some Batman, half
    hero, half millionaire show up, nor will wearing
    a yellow, pleated mini-skirt and pumps attract
    the type of guy she wants to spend the rest of her
    life with. She doesn’t see a salamander popping
    its head up above a fallen leaf. She hears the owl
    call his hunting call instead. Fog dampens night.
    She can’t explain why she knows this is the place
    she is meant to wait. She can’t relax or even sit
    without the pain of growth spurts ruining her
    yearning. No hikers present themselves, no slow
    moving conversations, so she marches back down
    to her lonely room, sits reading by a new lamp,
    listens to her parents snoring, fully aware of time.

Leave a Reply

