Chocolate Chip Oreo Cookies

_DSC0421_retouched_DSC0422_retouched

I was in the baking mood yesterday and though it was time for chocolate chip cookies. After being sick for about 2 weeks, I was happy that I was feeling myself again. I love baking, it usually brightens my spirits. I did a twist on my normal chocolate chip cookie recipe.
First of all, this was the first time I’ve used a pudding mix instead of granulated sugar. We still used brown sugar, but the taste of the pudding mix replaces the large amount of normal sugar that is usually used for cookies. I just used a Jello Vanilla Pudding package. The recipe called for 4 ounces, and the Jello packed was 3.4 ounces. But it all worked just the same!

These are pretty rich, so I suggest if you’re making them that you make a lot of small ones so you can eat them in small doses. That’s what I did and everyone seemed to like the portions. Also, this might be a good recipe for an Easter dessert! Lots of chocolate and great flavor.

Also, I didn’t crush up my oreos too much. I left some of them quite big and it made for interesting cookies!

I got this recipe from Food Fanatic. I was excited to find an oreo cookie recipe that wasn’t the ones where you just bake the whole oreo. That sounds good, but would be way too much for me! This gives enough of oreo flavor without being overwhelming. I’m really happy with how them came out.

Ingredients

1 cup all-purpose flour
4 ounces vanilla pudding mix, instant
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1 large egg, plus 1 large egg white
10 oreos, crumbled and crushed
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silpat.
2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, instant pudding, and baking soda.
3. In a large bowl beat the butter and brown sugar together until fluffy. Add the egg plus egg white and mix until just combined.
4. Add the flour-pudding mixture and mix until the dough is moist all the way through. Then stir in the crushed Oreos and chocolate chips.
5. Spoon the batter onto the prepared cookie sheets by the rounded teaspoon (these cookies are small!) about 2″ apart.
Bake for 10- 12 minutes.
6. Let the cookies cool slightly before removing them from the cookie sheet.

9 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Oreo Cookies

Leave a Reply

