Cute & Quirky

illustration001

Hello everyone, and Merry Monday to you!

Today I’m sharing a little fashion illustration that I did of all the things my friend Colie loves. She got a very impressive job at TJX and has a desk and everything! She decorated her desk with things, but there was nothing from me. I decided to paint her a picture (which I will soon frame) so she has something of mine. It took some time to do this because I wanted to make sure everything I painted was stuff she loved.

If you didn’t already know this, Colie has a super awesome blog as well, and you can check that out here!Β Colie has a very distinct style, and everyone loves it. Seriously, we will be walking around and people will stop her and say, “Oh my God, I love your _____!” Because of her unique style, I had a lot of fun drawing and painting this. It’s always more fun for a friend anyway!

The highlights of this are her awesome Rayban glasses and Converse wedged-high tops that she wears all the time. I also snuck in Amy Poehler’s “Yes Please” because we always talk about it (and we both love Amy Poehler). There’s also some lemons in there, because we share a weird love (and various inside jokes) of lemons.

I started out this painting with drawing in pencil, and then I realized that’s actually not the best way to do this. I’ve always sketched my paintings our first, but my light colors always bleed into the paint. Colie then introduced me to a whole ew world of illustration. I started using Copic markersΒ and I never want to look back. I understand that watercolor has its own place and beauty, but Copic markers are the way to go for fashion illustration. I can’t wait to share what I’ve done with those because they are (in my opinion) way more impressive.

While I love the new markers, I still love this painting I did for Colie and wanted to share it with you.

What do you think?

-Heather

3 thoughts on “Cute & Quirky

Leave a Reply

