A Day at the Granville Harvest Fair

Unknown

_DSC0228_DSC0231_DSC0232_DSC0233_DSC0234_DSC0235_DSC0236_DSC0237

Hello everyone, NOTICE :: Do you live in New England?

If you do, you know that the fall foliage this weekend was at its peak!!

I went to a Harvest Fair this weekend in Granville, which is a very small town right behind the town I live in. I wore my brown riding boots and got many compliments on my outfit, which was so lovely! This weekend was Columbus Day weekend, and the weather and trees were ideal for going to a fair. I couldn’t believe how beautiful the leaves were, even the ones settled on the ground. It was warm enough to wear a dress without tights, but not too hot that I was uncomfortable. A light sweater was perfect for the day.

I included a few shots of amazing landscapes and houses that looked so interesting to me as I walked around.

As well as some very unhealthy fried dough (which I ate a lot of) there were small craft stands and small businesses in tents that you could walk around and look at. I love craft fairs and this mixed my love of fall, crafts, and festival food all together at once. I had such a nice time looking at homemade soaps, alpaca-knitted scarves, and other miscellaneous items. I ended up buying a very overpriced door stop that was literally a brick wrapped in a nice print of corduroy (which I tweeted about with much buyer’s regret). It was mostly nice to talk to people and see what they were selling, even if you didn’t buy anything.

Last year when we went to the same fair, there was a beautiful mitten stand and I begged for a pair of them for Christmas. I was overjoyed to see them in the same spot, and spent a lot of time poking around and picking some that I wanted. Look at the amazing designs and colors! This made me so excited for winter that I had to stop myself and say, “Hey! It’s only October!”

I had my heart set on picking apples, but apparently a lot of the trees in New England are passed by and have been picked. But we still went to a popular apple farm and got some mulled cider. Cider is one of my favorite things in the world, and having it on a Β beautiful Autumn day with my family was just as good as picking apples. This particular farm is amazing and always makes the best cider. We actually watched them demonstrate how they make it. The smell was delicious and I didn’t want to leave!

Inside the barn, there were paintings that we took a look at, even though we look at them every year.

The apple farm and the surrounding area was really beautiful. It is a hike up from the craft portion of the fair, which is far down a hill. But the top of the hill was open and gorgeous to look at. The air was so crisp and reminded me of being little and exploring.

The trees were so beautiful surrounding us. I never wanted them to stop turning colors! I hope they still stay on the trees for a bit longer as this is my favorite time of year. You can see the beautiful colors on the mountains all the way back in the last picture.

Do you have any harvest fairs where you live? What are they like?

-Heather

3 thoughts on “A Day at the Granville Harvest Fair

Leave a Reply

